Attitude Dude….OMG what a week!

The longer I live, the more I realize the impact of attitude on life.  Attitude, to me, is more important than facts.  It is more important than the past, than education, than money, than circumstances, than failures, than successes, than what other people think or say or do. ……The remarkable thing is we have a choice every day regarding the attitude we will embrace for that day.  We cannot change our past… we cannot change the fact that people will act in a certain way.  We cannot change the inevitable.  The only thing we can do is play on the one string we have, and that is our attitude…. I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me me and 90% how I react to it.  And so it is with you….. we are in charge of our Attitudes.” Charles Swindoll. START WITH INTENTION

IMG_3863

Michael Leunig

There were many terrible things in my life, but most of them never happened.” French writer Montaigne

What’s this all about? ……3 major pieces of news this week.

1. Well, we’re trying to keep ‘perky’ about the strategic changes in Sebastien’s company due to it’s purchase last month by an investment company (think cost cutting and short-term vision)………???

2. We have another move to make within Shanghai.  My sixth sense was right  – despite having a 12-month contract in our home of 3 months we will be moving – against our will – ….next month. After expressing our desire to keep the apartment and current contract, and refusing to accept some money (bribery) our real estate agent called to inform me that the landlord had threatened to turn off the gas, electricity, water and internet connections if we have not vacated the premises by the end of November…… Wait a minute! Surely he can’t do that! Especially as we have a contract….. Um……..Apparently…….. he can!!!  This is ALMOST funny….except that it really is not. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again…TIC (This is China!)

3. My mother just announced that she has been diagnosed with a lesion on one of her lungs………….She tells me not to worry and she is right not to worry………..but still………..

IMG_4464Kombucha – I’d been curious about this lightly carbonated tea-based beverage and when the opportunity arose to try making it I decided to have a go. Its roots apparently go back to the Chinese Tsin/qin Dynasty in 221BC. It uses a mother starter known as a SCOBY (Symbiotic Colony of Bacteria and Yeast) which looks like a gelatinous pancake…yes a little creepy but I like the resulting slightly vinegary drink (but I’m the only one in the family who does). I found my SCOBY  the same way I found my water and kefir grains and sourdough starter – via the community of ‘Shanghaimamas.com’

Shanghighs‘: Imagine chocolate ranked 8th best in the world. Imagine a factory where you can taste 250 different flavors of this chocolate. Experience it right here in Shanghai at Austrian Zotters chocolate ‘theatre’.  The kids (and we) loved it. Their 70% cacao bar is the best I have ever tried in my life.

IMG_4519IMG_4518

Shanglows‘: Um …family illness……moving again!

Shangunusuals‘: I had to laugh that during the first school council meeting of the year, most time was spent discussing the canteen food (so French!).

Need to work on some electrical wires above a busy street? No problem, just grab a ladder, a few colleagues to hold it steady, and up you go!

IMG_3855

photo taken through windscreen of moving car.

One comment on “Attitude Dude….OMG what a week!

  1. claire & co says:

    coucou jenny,
    il semblerait que tout soit un peu compliqué ces temps ci. Nous pensons à vous et espérons que les choses vont aller un peu mieux rapidement.
    On vous fait de gros bisous!!!

Leave a Reply

