The other side.

My time recently spent on the other side of the world certainly had its fair share of sadness and turmoil (see last post) BUT it did have another side…and I was still able to let some joy, lightness and space into my life (as is my intention):

I am so very grateful for:

The time I spent with my Dad, sister, brother and his lovely girlfriend;

Being reunited and supported by my dear childhood friends;

Reconnecting with my wonderful cousins, uncle, and aunts;

Getting to know my mum and dad’s friends better;

..and hearing from all of these people (above) about how my special mother had touched their lives in so many different ways was truly heart warming.

I was also blessed by:

Remembering how friendly and cool Australians are in general;

Hearing some of my favorite birds singing every day from the comfort of my cosy childhood bed: the magpies, kookaburras, plovers and butcher birds ;

Wandering around Melbourne and enjoying the asian food, the excellent coffee, street art, trams…the general Aussie ambiance;

The good ‘ol Aussie BBQ! Dad has become quite the master chef;

Enjoying the Australian sky (which is somehow different from anywhere else in the world..brighter…bigger!) and the Australian forest/bush including kangaroos, wallabies, lizards, and birds and Climbing Mount Cannibal numerous times – which is a little hill not far from home and which I climb each time I visit;

Taking part (ie:being forced by my sister to take part) in ParkRun (a world-wide weekly free 5km fun run) and re-discovering that I quite like a short run when my knee is not painful and when I can manage to come first in my age-category.

IMG_7728

Melbourne:coffee capital of the world

IMG_7723

Just one of the lovely laneways of Melbourne.

 

unnamed

Melbourne:best Asian food outside Asia.

IMG_7806-2

On top of Mount Cannibal..on top of the world!

IMG_7802

Sister Anne ecstatic about finally getting to a sausage sizzle at the local Bunnings (hardware) store.

And there was also the liberating time (6 weeks!) away from my husband and children…and of course the joy of finding them again  🙂

There is always ‘The Other Side’….

My cousin Martin is the Rector of Bondi Anglican Churches (yes that IS on the coast of Sydney…nice right?) and he did a wonderful job as Master of Ceremony at mum’s funeral service.

He chose this reading from Ecclesiastes 3: A Time for Everything

There is a time for everything,and a season for every activity under the heavens:

a time to be born and a time to die,

a time to plant and a time to uproot,

a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,
a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,
a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,
a time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing,
a time to search and a time to give up,
a time to keep and a time to throw away,
a time to tear and a time to mend,
a time to be silent and a time to speak,
a time to love and a time to hate,
a time for war and a time for peace.

imagesAnd of course the Chinese yin and yang also symbolizes the balancing of the universe’s opposing yet complementary forces.

Yes, fortunately, there is always ‘The Other Side’….

Since my return to France and with the beginning of spring I’ve Enjoyed some time spent with new and ‘old’ friends: Christelle and Jerome and kids at an amusement park ‘Futuroscope’, Anthony and Oanh and their kids (friends from Grenoble who now live in Paris), Coraline and Thomas and their son Victor (who was one of our daughter’s good friends in Shanghai……they returned to France from China at the same time we did) and a weekend in Brittany with a local couple and their kids (the son is another close friend of our daughters).

 

Leave a Reply

